Home page > thenewfederalist.eu > Schengen Enlargment - Europe United!

Schengen Enlargment - Europe United!

Friday 21 December 2007

The EU’s borderless zone expanded to nine new member countries - Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia and the Czech Republic, which all joined the EU back in May 2004 - at midnight on Friday (21 December) in its biggest enlargement so far. Land and sea border checks between them and the other Schengen countries are now abolished, while air borders are set to follow on 30 March 2008.

See online : Read more about it here.

Reply to this news item